1 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES - FLOOR VERSION STATE OF OKLAHOMA 2 2nd Session of the 58th Legislature (2022) 3 ENGROSSED SENATE 4 CONCURRENT 5 RESOLUTION NO. 21 By: Hicks and Boren of the Senate 6 and 7 O'Donnell, Waldron, and McBride of the House 8 9 10 11 A Concurrent Resolution commemorating the celebration of St. Patrick's Day; celebrating the 100th anniversary of the Irish Senate; and directing 12 distribution. 13 14 15 WHEREAS, on March 17th, during the annual celebration of the 16 Feast of Saint Patrick, the Patron Saint of Ireland, Irish Americans 17 join with men, women, and children of all other ethnic origins who, 18 for one day, become Irish and celebrate Patrick and love of Ireland; 19 20 and WHEREAS, on Saint Patrick's Day, all who wear the green live for 21 a day in the spirit of Saints Patrick, Bridget, and Colmcille, whose 22 1500th anniversary was this past year; and 23 24

WHEREAS, Irish immigrants to the United States helped form the cultural foundation of the nation, and those of Irish lineage today proudly sing support for Ireland; and

WHEREAS, the Oklahoma Legislature celebrates the establishment of the American Irish State Legislators Caucus with leadership in all 50 states aiming to foster and strengthen the longstanding relationship that exists between the United States of America and Ireland to the mutual benefit of both countries; and

WHEREAS, the songs of Ireland are the tragic songs of love and the joyous songs of battle, the nostalgic reveries of the sorrows and the glories that are the Emerald Isle, and the lamentations of life's myriad travails and the odes to joy and the life eternal.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 2ND SESSION OF THE 58TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

THAT the Oklahoma State Legislature commemorates the celebrations of the Feast of Saint Patrick, the Patron Saint of Ireland.

THAT the Oklahoma State Legislature celebrates the 100th anniversary of the Irish Senate.

THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to Sen. Mark Daly,
Chair of the Senate of Ireland, and the National Co-Chairs of the
American Irish State Legislators Caucus, Speaker Robin Vos of
Wisconsin, Assemblywoman Carol Murphy of New Jersey, Rep. Killian

Timoney of Kentucky, Rep. Fran Hurley of Illinois, Sen. Shannon O'Brien of Montana, and Sen. Mia Costello of Alaska. DIRECT TO CALENDAR.